New menu, and a NEW WAY

Well, my discovery of the “custom menu” feature for my little blog here has given me yet another opportunity to slightly change the way I do things.

If you take a look at the top of the page there are now category tabs.  Yes, you’re right…they’re just labeled the same as the categories to the right of my blog.  Nothing too special really.  BUT, I feel like those make it much easier to navigate my somewhat high-concept blog structure (one that I don’t really think has come together as much as it eventually can yet).  What this means for me is a couple of things:

1.  I was beginning to feel like it was ridiculous to continue updating my master lists in posts.  It makes much more sense to me to just have the master list in its own stationary category where a definitive and updated version can always be referenced.  Every time I did a new review I would update it via a completely new posts and date it.  What I feel like ended up happening is there are now fifteen different version of my master list (all dated) at the various states of change that it has gone through.  This is too much, and there needed to be ONE list.  I will update it after I do a review by adding the newest game in… but it shall all forevermore stay in one single post.  A post that will be immediately viewable upon clicking the “Master List” tab.

2.  Since there will no longer be master list update posts I will be creating a new tab up top that will be called “List Reflections”.  The posts in this new category will be title something like “List Reflection:  Super Mario RPG Edition” and it will cover thoughts on my most recent game’s placement, current games I’m playing…future games…blah blah blah.

All in all I think it’s a much cleaner way to present the information I’m trying to present, and much more easily navigated.  An introduction to what I’m doing here.  A comprehensive index of games that I have done and will do.  The master list itself which has my personal all-time ranking of the games I’ve reviewed, and now list reflections detailing why certain games placed where and updates on what might be coming next.  Oh yeah, and don’t forget the game reviews themselves.

Now here’s some art.

Leave a Reply

