The Master List (6/24)

1.  Vagrant Story (PS)
2.  Final Fantasy XII (PS2)
3.  Resident Evil 4 (GameCube/Wii)
4.  Final Fantasy XI (PC/Xbox 360)
5.  Mass Effect (Xbox 360)
6.  Paper Mario (N64/Virtual Console)
7.  Kingdom Hearts (PS)
8.  Super Mario RPG:  Legend of the Seven Stars (SNES/Virtual Console)

1.  Vagrant Story is the reigning champ over a growing list of wannabes to the tune of 7 whole games now.

2.  Final Fantasy XII is still #2 and that’s good.  Resident Evil 4 nipped at its heels but that’s all it did.  RE4 is almost as good a game as XII, though.  I just like RPGs more.

3.  Not much I can say here that I haven’t already, but I am excited about how high RE4 made it up on the list.  It was hard to give it a higher ranking than FFXI but to be completely honest RE4 is just that good of a game that deserves to be 3rd best, if not more.

4.  Final Fantasy XI took a step down today but that’s OK.  I feel really good about how this list is all coming together, and I really can’t justify FFXI being the 3rd best game I’ve ever played (currently).

5.  Mass Effect retains its top five status but it’s lost a bit of ground to some heavy hitters lately.

6.  Paper Mario!  I’m still really happy about finally playing this game AND having it score pretty high on the list.

7.  I would compare Kingdom Hearts to a fallen idol at this point.  There was a time long ago when I considered KH to be a top 5 game…guess I’ve grown up a bit.  My tastes definitely have changed for the better.

8.  SMRPG: LOTSS.  I miss the days when I thought that you too were a top 5 player.  There will be worse games though, for sure.

My first survival horror game of the list cracked the top 3 and beat out some phenomenal games that mean a lot to me.  Resident Evil 4 is without a doubt one of the best games in its genre.  It’ll be really interesting for me from this point forward because there are some wild-card games that still could cause a ruckus.  ICO, Shadow of the Colossus, Final Fantasy Tactics, Xenogears, Crono Cross.  There are also plenty of games that I haven’t beat yet and it’ll be interesting to rate them ’cause I’ve never had a list like this to compare before.  Exciting shit, man.

4 thoughts on “The Master List (6/24)

  1. idk because when i think of survival horror I think of resident evil and “zombies” and shooting, and when i think of silent hill i think of psychological intensity, puzzle-solving…interpretive shit, like maybe it’s not in the same category as your more typical horror games thematically.

    either way, no i haven’t seen a little girl but I’ve seen some sailors

Leave a Reply

